I’ve been going over the theme and ingredients to figure out which ones to use.  My first reaction was luke-warm, but I’m warming up as I dig in.  I’m not decided on anything yet, but some ideas are percolating.  To start, I’m assuming I’ll use all the ingredients and the theme (though I may cut one or two as  I go).  Oh, and “protagonists as zombies” jumped out at me when I began getting into the mariner headspace… so protagonists zombies, here we come 😀

  • Theme: Intrigue – The first thing I told myself going in is to be careful not to get too caught up in setting or premise until I figured out what the game would be.  It’s not  just supposed to be pretty or fascinating (though those sure aren’t bad things), it’s supposed to be fun and playable and it’s supposed to belong to the group playing instead of me.  Well, “Intrigue” helps tell me what the game’s going to be.  The players are going to intrigue (probably their characters will, too, but that’s still to be seen).
  • Ingredient: Fleur-de-Lis – I started with the Wikipedia link in the Game Chef site.  I’m not interested in the obvious French associations (though I reserve the right to change my mind).  Instead, the religious components jumped out at me, particularly it’s association with feminine virtue and spirituality.
  • Ingredient: Dividers – This is the ingredient I think is coolest for some reason, but I don’t really have a lot of ideas yet.  Measuring distances by walking the dividers across a map… I’ll figure outa way to make it work.
  • Ingredient: Seabird – Keeping with the sailing motif most the ingredients have, and digging into the Wikipedia entry again, the relationship between sailors and certain seabirds (especially albatrosses) jumped out at me.  The superstitions against harming certain seabirds and following seabirds to food or shore seems cool.  Keeping intrigue in mind, opposing religions or maybe sects within religion came to mind.  Sailors as men and the women playing some other role (based on the fleur-de-lis) also is gurgling aroun in my head.  I’m not sure what will float to the top yet.
  • Ingredient: Star – My first thought is to tie this to the seabirds in religious symbology.  But like the divider, stars are heavily tied to the mechanics of early navigation.  Those aren’t exclusive uses.  Hmm.  I’d like to do more with it, though.  Stars also evoke astrology or meteors, bright new stars, and other signs in the heavens that suggesst portents to travel in a certain direction (like over sea…), etc.  Possibly portents read in different ways by different groups… or even hinting that certain events in the near future could determine the destiny of nations (something worth intriguing over, for sure :D)
  • Extra Spice: Zombie protagonists (Archeological and Zombiological Sciences medal) – Mariner zombies are cool to me.  So how do zombie protagonists tie to an intrigue game involving sailing, portents in the heavens, and competing religions?  A bunch of ideas are percolating.  I like tying zombies to seabirds. It feels sort of evocative of stories like the Crow movie, with a nautical flavor.  Also, seabirds that migrate over the sea and back has a lot of cool potential for traveling back and forth between the worlds of the living and the dead.  Alternately, seabirds could be oposed to zombies–we’ll see what shakes out better.  As for the other group(s), do they have zombies, too?  Most likely.  Going back to the Fleur-de-Lis… raising from the dead done by “virtuous” women figures is intersting and there are some twists I could do with that.  the other variant is that virtuous, spiritual women become zombies with the fleur-de-lis tied in symbolically or literally.  Hmm, I’ll have to see how everything else shakes out.  So… why zombies and why zombie protagonists?  The three ideas that come first to mind are: a) if zombies raised from the dead are “chosen” with religious overtones (both the “seabird zombies” and the “fleur-de-lis zombies”), but competing religions or sects, then they could be in leadership roles (whether overt or more hidden) and be the intriguers, b) zombies are the “cannon fodder” on both sides of the conflict (maybe as the sailors–the don’t get scurvy, they just rot), or b) the entire setting takes place in the land of the dead (or rather the seas of the dead).

All of the above is (obviously) just ramblings and early musings.  I may do something very similar to all of that, or go a different direction.  But I’m liking what I’m seeing.

-John B.

